top of page

Thomas Below

A letter from a true prioneer, explorer and adventurer:



My name is Thomas Below. I am 40 years old and I live in Copenhagen, Denmark.

Since I started in school,where I learned about Greenland and the Arctic for the first time I have been truly fascinated about this part of the World.



In March 1999, I went to Greenland and the Arctic for the first time in my life, and it has been an experience to remember. After this trip, I decided to explore this part of the World even more and I also wanted to learn more about the people that live in the Arctic and about their culture. I always go on many longer hiking trips in the Arctic nature and when I am out there in extreme low degrees I need a reliable timepiece that never fails. And that is why I - since my winter expedition to North-Greenland - have chosen a Fortis timepiece to follow me whenever I go there. I usually wear my B42 GMT made for the Royal Danish Airforce or my Official Cosmonauts Chronograph.

I have been to the Arctic every year since then and I have taken pictures of the people of Greenland and their nature, Furthermore I have been writing journals about the climate changes that affects their lifes in the Arctic. I have visited small villages with dogsledding expeditions and met the people that struggle to make a living in the rural parts of Greenland.

It Can be as low as minus 34 Degrees up there during the winter,and it is sometimes a very extreme experience to be out in the Nature. The Ilulissat Icefiord is the biggest on the northern hemisphere and also the most productive and is a UNESCO World Heritage Site. About 5000 people live there and most of them work as fishermen and traditional hunters. On every expedition my Fortis timepiece has been with me and it has never let me down!

Yours sincerely.

Thomas

The whole FORTIS Team just wanted to say thank you for sharing your story and great prictures with us.


Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page